Wayland School Committee Special Meeting 10/24/23 Minutes

Attendees:
Erin Gibbons, Chair
Jeanne Downs, Vice Chair
Erin Mueller
Christina Rodrigo

Absent:

Ellen Grieco

Call To Order

Erin Gibbons called the meeting to order at 5:05 pm. She noted that the meeting was being conducted remotely via Zoom and that it was being recorded.

Executive Session

Upon a motion made by Erin Gibbons, seconded by Erin Mueller, the Committee voted unanimously (4-0) to enter Executive Session at 5:06 pm for the purpose of discussing strategy in preparation for negotiation with non-union personnel (Acting Superintendent), as a discussion in open session may have a detrimental effect on the negotiating position of the School Committee, as permitted by M.G.L. c.30A, §21(a)(2). A roll call vote was taken as follows:

| Roll Call | <u>Yes</u> | No |
|--------------------------|------------|----|
| Erin Gibbons, Chair | Χ | |
| Jeanne Downs, Vice Chair | Χ | |
| Ellen Grieco | absent | |
| Erin Mueller | Χ | |
| Christina Rodrigo | Χ | |

The School Committee will not be joined by anyone else and will reconvene in open session.

Open session reconvened at 5:44 pm.

Discussion of Acting Superintendent for FY25 and Possible Vote to Appoint Acting Superintendent

Erin Gibbons announced that the Committee would be entering another year with David Fleishman as acting/interim superintendent noting that this would provide continued stability for the district and the ability to do a robust and thorough search for a permanent superintendent which would include opportunity for community feedback and input.

Upon a motion made by Jeanne Downs, seconded by Erin Mueller, the School Committee voted unanimously (4-0) to appoint David Fleishman as interim superintendent for the 2024-2025 school year

effective July 1, 2024 and to authorize the chair to execute the contract on behalf of the Committee. A roll call vote was taken as follows:

| Roll Call | <u>Yes</u> | No |
|--------------------------|------------|----|
| Erin Gibbons, Chair | Χ | |
| Jeanne Downs, Vice Chair | Χ | |
| Ellen Grieco | absent | |
| Erin Mueller | Χ | |
| Christina Rodrigo | Χ | |

Adjournment

Upon a motion made by Jeanne Downs, seconded by Christina Rodrigo, the School Committee voted unanimously (4-0) to adjourn at 5:47 pm. A roll call vote was taken as follows:

| Roll Call | <u>Yes</u> | No |
|--------------------------|------------|----|
| Erin Gibbons, Chair | Χ | |
| Jeanne Downs, Vice Chair | Χ | |
| Ellen Grieco | absent | Ī |
| Erin Mueller | Χ | |
| Christina Rodrigo | Χ | |

Respectfully Submitted,

Jeanne Downs