MINUTES – WAYLAND SCHOOL COMMITTEE Special Meeting – July 13, 2020

A Special Meeting of the Wayland School Committee was held jointly with the Board of Selectmen, remotely on Monday, July 13, 2020, at 5:10 P.M. broadcast by WayCAM in the Wayland Town Building.

Present were:

Jeanne Downs, Chair (participating remotely)
Ellen Grieco, Vice Chair (participating remotely)
Kim Reichelt (participating remotely)

Jeanne called the meeting to order at 5:20 pm.

1. Attend Board of Selectmen Meeting to Interview Candidate(s) and Vote to Appoint to Fill School Committee Vacancy

a. Christopher M Ryan

Jeanne introduced Chris Ryan, School Committee member-elect. Ellen noted that Chris was elected by voters at the June 9, 2020 election. Cherry Karlson, Board of Selectmen Chair, announced that the intent of the Board was to meet jointly with the School Committee to fill a recently vacated seat on the School Committee as prescribed in Chapter 41 Section 11. The seat could be filled following a resignation, a vote of the School Committee to request the Board jointly fill the seat, the Board's announcement of intent to fill the seat on the School Committee, and the public posting of the vacancy for seven days. The Board received one application, Chris Ryan.

Upon a motion made by Selectmen Lea Anderson, seconded by Selectmen Doug Levine, the Board of Selectmen and School Committee voted unanimously (8-0) to appoint Christopher M. Ryan to fill the remainder of the term of office for the seat vacated by Nate Buffum, unless Christopher M. Ryan can sooner assume the term of office to which he was elected at the 2020 Town Election. A roll call vote was taken as follows:

<u>Yes</u>	<u>No</u>
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
	X X X X X X

2. Adjournment

Upon a motion made by Jeanne Downs and seconded by Kim Reichelt, the School Committee voted unanimously (3-0) to adjourn at 5:25 pm. A roll call vote was taken as follows:

Roll Call	<u>Yes</u>	<u>No</u>
Jeanne Downs, Chair	X	
Ellen Grieco, Vice Chair	X	
Kim Reichelt	X	

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanne Downs Wayland School Committee