m April 13, 2010 b.

Minutes - Wayland School Committee
Regular Session   April 13, 2010  

A Regular Session of the Wayland School Committee was held on Tuesday, April 13, 2010, at 7:00 P.M. at the Twelfth Baptist Church in Roxbury, Massachusetts.

Present were:
Dr. Louis Jurist, Chair
Mr. Jeff Dieffenbach, Vice Chair
Mr. Malcolm Astley
Mrs. Deb Cohen, Esq.
Mrs. Barb Fletcher

Dr. Gary A. Burton
Superintendent of Schools

Mr. Brad J. Crozier
Assistant Superintendent

Dr. Marlene M. Dodyk
Director of Student Services

Ms. Mabel Reid-Wallace
METCO Director

Chair Louis Jurist convened the regular meeting at 7:20 P.M.

1. Introductions
The School Committee introduced themselves to the attendees.

2. METCO Program Review:
Ms. Mabel Reid-Wallace, METCO Director, presented her annual program review.
• Gave an overview of enrollment, staffing, programs offered throughout the district
• Discussed issues with regard to selecting the appropriate course level for students and how METCO students perform
• Reviewed professional development activities
• Presented overview of METCO budget and reductions
• Explained lobbying strategy and fundraising efforts, including the METCO, Inc. Continuation Fundraiser
• Answered questions

3. RFP for Administrative and Support Staff Review:
Mrs. Fletcher presented the revised draft of the RFP.
• The Committee discussed the scope of the review and timing of the study.
• The Committee will finish the RFP and give it to the petitioners.

4. Executive Session:
Upon a motion duly made by Mr. Dieffenbach, seconded by Mrs. Fletcher, the Committee voted unanimously
(5-0) in a roll call vote to convene in Executive Session at 9:32 P.M. for the purpose of matters pertaining to Personnel and Negotiations, as set forth in Section 23B of G.L. Ch. 39.

              Roll Call



Dr. Louis Jurist

Mr. Jeff Dieffenbach




Mr. Malcolm Astley

Mrs. Deb Cohen

Mrs. Barb Fletcher





The Chair announced that the Committee would reconvene in Open Session immediately following the adjournment of the Executive Session for adjournment purposes only.

5. Adjournment:
Upon a motion by Mr. Dieffenbach, seconded by Mr. Astley, the Committee voted unanimously (5-0) to adjourn the Regular Session at 9:52 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Gary A. Burton, Clerk
Wayland School Committee




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.